June 17: Save Lumad Schools Kwentuhan


📣Lumad Schools Kwentuhan PART TWO 📣

At the last Kwentuhan, or story-sharing, we met with Lumad students & teachers, learning more about the escalated attacks from the Duterte administration with the Anti-Terrorism Law and other policies. Many of their schools have been harassed, red-tagged, and forcibly shut down, in turn denying Indigenous youth the right to education. Yet these students continue to assert their right to education and self determination by continuing their schooling at Bakwit Schools (evacuation centers).

At this month’s Kwentuhan, we will be joined again by Lumad students and the Bakwit 7 -- a group consisting of Lumad students, datus (tribal leaders), and volunteer teachers -- who were recently released from prison after police arrested them on false charges at a Bakwit school in the University of San Carlos-Talamban on February 15, 2021. While they share their stories -- we will share ours as well! We’ll share some cultural performances created by Fil-Am youth. Be ready to share your story -- the Lumad youth have many questions :)

Join the conversation with Kabataan Alliance, Anakbayan-USA, Save Our Schools Network! Learn how to show up in solidarity with Lumad communities, uplift Filipinx/a/o youth, and advocate for indigenous land stewardship in the Philippines.

Thursday June 17

5pm PT / 6pm MT / 7pm CT / 8pm ET (Friday, May 7th, 8am Philippine Time)

RSVP: tiny.cc/kwentuhan617

Image Description:

In the top right corner are the logos for Ankbayan USA and Kabataan Alliance. The event details ar

“SAVE LUMAD SCHOOLS: Kwentuhan” are in a dark red color at the top center with event details below.

The logos for Anakbayan-USA and Kabataan Alliance are in the top right corner

At the bottom are a collage of photos -- the Bakwit 7 standing in white t-shirts & maks; a young Lumad student reaches out their hand, wearing a mask that says “RISE”, an Save Our Schools flag waves next to them. Behind some of the Bakwit 7 is another photo of several Lumad with their fists in the air, holding a large banner that says “Save Lumad Schools.

Two hashtags flat in the middle in red and gold: #FreeBakwit7 #SaveOurSchools